London week 10.

When I returned from reading week I had the realization that I only had 6 weeks left in London. 6! That’s going to fly, I had a bit of a freakout realizing there is still so much I have yet to do, but with some deep breaths and reminders from loved ones, I know I’ll be okay and will make the most of the next 6 weeks. It’s now down to 5 which is even crazier, but excited to see where the next month and week lead me. Can I be honest though? Since I’ve reached the halfway point, I am in a bit of a rut. I’m ready to be home with loved ones and family, but at the same time I want more time to do everything.

Before the week started I attended the lights turning on for Oxford Street with Kate. It was such a fun experience to countdown and see them turn on.

 

Monday

I had been reading about how London was dark when you woke up and dark when before you left work, which worried me just a bit because I NEED sunshine. I love the sun. So imagine my surprise when I woke up to sunshine! I sat right in front of my window taking in the sun and the Word of God. I loved it!

The most exciting part of my day was scheduling my classes and realizing that I have another semester with no classes on Friday! Yay!  I am signed up to take an Education class, English 101, Mathematical concepts 1, First-year seminar about sleuthing, and my preview course called Global Rome. Through my Preview class (which is a first year program at Arcadia), I will be going to Rome for spring break and the class will finish up on April 7 (so says my email).

Tuesday

This morning Riley and I had planned to eat breakfast at aThe Haberdashery. A cute cafe about 20 minutes away. We enjoyed a delicious full English breakfast with hot drinks for only £8.95 because we ate before 10am. My hot drink was rich hot chocolate with marshmallows. Our waiter was from Philly (Riley wore a Philly hat, so that’s how we found that out) and he was awesome because when I asked for no mushrooms he asked if I would like avocado instead. All in all such a great morning, eating good food and enjoying good company.

We saw this cute shop called Gift and went inside. I found washi tape and my day was made even more! I bought 5 christmas washi tape roles.

img_7731

At the end of the day I saw The Entertainer for theatre class, but I got really hot and didn’t feel well, so I watched from the back. It was my favorite play so far, probably because it had singing and dancing.

img_7744

Wednesday

This morning class was supposed to be in Brixton, but due to some train faults we had to meet at the centre at 10:30am. With extra time Emelie and I stopped at our favorite place, Eat. I enjoyed a morning snack of mango with lime and chocolate croissant. For lunch we decided to try something new, we found this tucked away thai place.

 

After my second class Leah and I were set to see The Lion King. We had dinner at this little place called Crown before the show. The show was absolutely amazing! It was such a fun evening.

 

Thursday

I volunteered at the soup kitchen this morning and had a different experience than the first time. I set up the tables and chairs, cut pears, handed out bread, helped cook lunch, dished out lunch, put desserts together, and helped clean some cabinets. I  got to know the head chef Georgie a little better which was awesome. I’m so excited to be going back Thanksgiving Day and the Monday after that weekend. It’s so fun!

After volunteering I quickly grabbed Chicken Pho from Eat because my throat was beginning to hurt and headed to the centre for a group meeting. One of our Glenside professors was visiting so we also got cookies and tea. The cookies were delicious.

After class I headed to Oxford Street to meet my powerhouse group. It was lovely to see everyone, 3 weeks was definitely too long. We were smaller tonight, but walked to Carnaby Street and enjoyed the lights turning on. It was a lot of fun to countdown again, but it was definitely different than Oxford Street lights turning on. Afterwards we ate at the Carnaby Burger Co. and I ate a tasty bbq burger and fries. It was such a fun evening.

Friday

I woke up not feeling well, have been all week. I used my international student insurance to make a doctor’s appointment to see what was up since I have been feeling feverish and had a sore throat. It was a beautiful day though, so to take it in the sun I read for school.

img_7834

At 3pm I had my appointment at the Holborn Medical Centre. Praise the Lord that nothing is severely wrong with me. I can’t remember exactly what I have, but to get better I only need to rest and drink lots of fluids. It was weird going by myself for something other than a checkup in a foreign country to the doctor. The doctor was very friendly and it was a unique experience.

Later I went back out for groceries and then picked up some McDonald’s for dinner to cross it off my list. It was a relaxing evening watching full house and fall hallmark movies.

Saturday

Due to needing to rest. I spent the whole day in my pajamas in my room watching movies. It’s hard being sick away from home, but it was a relaxing day. I also made delicious pancakes for breakfast, enjoyed pizza for lunch, finished my pretzels, and was given cookies from Anna.

Sunday

To get some fresh air I went to the farmer’s market with Anna and picked up some vegetables.

IMG_7906.JPG

I got a surprise text from Kellie to come sew up my scarf, it is now hole free, it was very sweet.

img_7859

Then she, Hannah, Kate, and I went to Primrose Hill and enjoyed the sunset. It was a beautiful evening.

img_7876img_7880img_7902

Despite being sick, it was a busy fun filled week. Time is flying and I’m so excited to see what the next few weeks hold for me.

xoxo,

Adventurous Ally

Leave a Reply

